top of page

State Senate announces leadership team

Senator Andy Biggs of Gilbert will remain as President of the Arizona State Senate, after a post-election organizational meeting by the Republican Majority.

This will be Biggs’ second term as President, after being elected to the post in January 2013. He will be joined on the leadership team by Majority Leader Steve Yarbrough and Majority Whip Gail Griffin.

President Biggs entered the State Legislature in 2003. Before serving as Senate President, he was Senate Majority Leader and Appropriations Chair.

Majority Leader Yarbrough also entered the Legislature in 2003. He is currently the Chair of the Senate Finance Committee and Chair of the Ethics Committee. He lives in Chandler.

Majority Whip Griffin was sworn into the Senate in 2011, after serving in the House of Representatives. She is currently President Pro Tempore of the Senate. Senator Griffin is Chair of the Government and Environment Committee. She lives in Hereford.

New leadership will be effective at the start of the next term in January, the 52nd Legislature, First Regular Session.

6 views0 comments
bottom of page