top of page

Senate Republicans Announce New Leadership Team

Republicans in the Arizona State Senate have named Senator Steve Yarbrough Senate President for the upcoming 53rd Legislature. The Republican Majority met in a post-election organizational meeting this afternoon.

Senator Yarbrough currently serves as Senate Majority Leader. He will replace Senate President Andy Biggs, who won his Congressional race last night and is headed to Washington, D.C. Senator Yarbrough has served at the Legislature since 2003. He represents District 17 and lives in Chandler.

Senator Kimberly Yee has been chosen as Majority Leader for the Caucus. She represents District 20, which is north Phoenix and parts of Glendale. She currently serves as Chair of the Committee on Commerce & Workforce Development.

Senator Gail Griffin will return for another term as Senate Majority Whip. She represents District 14, in the southeast corner of the state. She currently chairs the Committee on Water & Energy. Senator Griffin lives in Hereford.

Senator Yarbrough also named Senator Debbie Lesko to serve as President pro tempore. Senator Lesko represents District 21 and lives in Peoria. She currently chairs the Committee on Finance.

"I am honored and blessed to be chosen unanimously by our Caucus to serve as Senate President," said Senator Yarbrough. "Arizona will be well-served with Senator Yee as Majority Leader, Senator Griffin returning as Majority Whip and Senator Lesko as President pro tempore. We all realize there are big challenges ahead for our state, and we will work hard with the Minority Caucus, the House of Representatives and the Governor to do what's best for this great state."

New leadership will be effective at the start of the next term in January, the 53rd Legislature, First Regular Session.

119 views0 comments
bottom of page